top of page

Gorran


Born and raised in Walthamstow, east London, twenty-year-old singer-songwriter-producer Gorran is in no rush to make a debut album. Music, quite literally, flows through his veins thanks to his parents who met in the student orchestra.

Gorran makes his own form of “dark contemporary pop” taking influence from some of the great legends including David Bowie, Ed Sheeran and current favourite Billie Eilish.

Before he's about to go on tour with KT Tunstall, we managed to grab a moment with the east-Londoner on his journery so far.

Hello Gorran, what does it feel like up on stage?

It’s really hard to describe. It’s just pure bliss. Nothing at that moment can get in the way you and the music you’re playing. It’s one of the few times in life that you get to feel as though you are in complete control. It’s very empowering.

What’s the biggest crowd you’ve played in front of so far?

The Roundhouse will be the biggest crowd I’ve played to so far; that’s 3,000 people. When I was 14, I sang a cover song at The Hackney Empire; that was 1,000 people. But performing original material, it’s been mainly pub gigs around London to really small audiences, usually 10 or 15 people. Those gigs are special though you get a real sense of what people think of your writing, as you can see their reactions up-close.

Wow, The Roundhouse. That’s so cool.

Yeah, I’m really looking forward to it.

When did you realise music was the right route?

As a child, I was known in my neighbourhood as somebody who would sing everywhere I went. It was just very natural for me. At primary school, I was introduced to performing on stage and I started landing lead roles in the school plays so for a while I pursued acting. When I was 14, I began posting cover songs on YouTube, and this led to me realising I had a strong passion for music in general. I auditioned for The BRIT School and was fortunate enough to get a place there.

The BRIT school, impressive. What was that like? Did you meet Simon Cowell?

Yeah, it was great. Probably the best two years of my life. I developed so much as an artist there, realising my love for songwriting and honing my live performance. And haha, yeah, Simon came to the school. We didn’t meet, but me and some mates were there when he arrived.

You started doing covers on YouTube and you recently did a spin on Post Malone’s Better Now, what’s it like to be able to work on your own original pieces?

Writing songs is a very emotional experience for me. I find myself in these little worlds I’ve created in my head, and I become emotionally invested in the relationship between the feeling I personally experience, and how I choose to convey those feelings. Songs are all about feeling, you know? You want to be moved. You want to experience something.

You have a very strong work ethic, what do you like to do when you’re not working?

Honestly, music is my entire life, so even when I’m not working, I’m constantly thinking about it. But to answer your question, I guess just sleeping or watching Netflix or YouTube.

Find Gorran on all socials @_Gorran.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
bottom of page